The Plodder

slowrunner

I have never worried too much about being a slow runner. I was never a sprinter at school, much more a cross country girl. Long and slow for me, really very slow – even back in the day when I wore short shorts rather than three quarter pants to run because I didn’t care so much who saw my legs.

In the recent 10km races I have participated in I don’t worry when the crowd takes off in front of me, even the yummy mummies with their prams. They hover ahead in the distance and slowly, slowly, very slowly – I make up that ground. Usually on the hills, which is a surprise as I am the slowest hill runner known to mankind. They may be pushing a pram with a toddler (or two sometimes) but I partly justify that I am carrying the extra kg’s on my person, sadly not in the form of a weight belt.  I get frustrated with the sprinter, walker crowd – they put me off a bit, get in my head, when they sprint past and then then five minutes later rounding a corner they are walking and I plod past them only to be taken again in another few minutes time.

By about two thirds of the way through, the yummy mummies with prams, the sprinter walkers and a few others pulled up with injuries or for other various reasons are generally behind me and I start to see people I haven’t seen since the starting line. A fit father and middle school daughter running together, at some stage one of them must have needed to walk and so I inch towards and then surprising myself, past them. A guy running by himself who at the start I guessed as someone I would probably finish around the same time as – by what exact evaluation method I cannot tell you. Two women running together who look way fitter than I do, to me – in my mind, who probably didn’t train and just turned up and now are slowing down, just enough so I can edge past.

The point is, my brilliant strategy – is my only strategy, and I have always been quite happy with it. Not every man in the street can run a sub 2hr half marathon or sub 4hr full marathon. Hats off to those who can and do. I have several friends who can achieve this amazing feat and I have never been jealous of them – only in awe of their dedication and achievement as regular people who can train hard while managing families and jobs and their lives and just whip out a sub 4 hour marathon once in a while.

I have never really cared about being a slow runner until about 10 days ago when I had a 28km training run that took around 3 hours and 30 minutes. That was a looooong run that took a very long time. I got pretty jealous around kilometre 20. I was thinking off all the people I know who would already be home lying in their ice baths, eating protein bars and glugging down water and other rehydration substances. I do not put the end of that run in the win column for the mental game.

This weekend I have a 30km run to do, my last ‘long’ run before the marathon according to my trusty training plan that has my current ETA on November 3rd as 5:16 – 5:22. I can’t say I’m not a bit nervous, about this run and the big one in 25 days time. I am nervous, a lot. It is too late to change my pace, strategy, training plan and a  lot of other things – so plodding it is.

Maybe I just need to Google ‘mental game for plodders’ and I’ll nail this thing.

Thank you to everyone for your messages of support and to those who have sponsored me for my long long long jog around New York City on Sunday November 3rd.

How to sponsor me for your very own kilometre – click here and don’t forget to let me know which kilometre you want. Still so many to choose from and don’t say I don’t give value for money, your kilometre will last at least 7 minutes!

Numbers marked in red are taken, perhaps your lucky number is still available?!

Slide1

How to be a sponsor committed to testing – send an email to randomthoughtsnikki@gmail.com to let me know and get along to your local GP or pharmacy, whatever way is accepted in your country of residence and do yourself a favour and get tested. I won’t be asking for medical results or certificates ;)

Slide2

8 thoughts on “The Plodder

  1. From one Plodder to another, there is nothing wrong with being a Plodder…we get there in the end! All those years ago (13 of them) when I plodded through a marathon, I spent the last 10km passing people…it felt great…but the best part was finishing the run feeling tired yet strong and as though I had paced myself well. Good luck with the big 30km this weekend. Amanda x

  2. The Tortoise always wins in the end Nik – getting to the end and indeed starting is far more important than a great time. I have bags’d the 14th Km if not already taken :) Good luck and enjoy the elation at the end. x Coins

  3. I love it when people sprint off at the start of the race and then you pick them off one by one. This seems to happen at all distances! It’s much better to start off a little slow and increase your speed if you can towards the end, than to fizzle out early as you can never recover once you do. For anyone doing a first marathon just getting to the end is all you need to worry about. Think how much free time you’re going to have when all this is over! Can’t wait to read about the race.

  4. You go girl, I bet you do just fine even if you do consider yourself a plodder…. remember, it is a marathon not a sprint! Eish, I have you sitting on my left shoulder continually reminding me to get tested. In fact I think you may have been sitting there for nigh 18 months now! Next year, N, next year. x

Comment - go on - you know you want to

